What I’ve Been Up To

I can not currently play LoTRO since their big patch on March 7th. They changed something with the client so that on my old PC it’s crashing within 15 min after I started to play. I’m not a programmer, I really have no idea why it’s doing this, but it’s getting extremely frustrating to even bother to log on to the game. 😦 I’m filing the crash reports to their beta forums with different data in hopes it will help them fix that. I’m not alone with the frequent crashing problem. I guess I just can’t understand what it is they changed to make it do this. I played for 2 days straight totally up to 20 hours during the stress test a few weeks ago with no crashes. So that rules out that my machine is so old that it can’t run it. I just want LoTRO to succeed and this problem is really deflating my enthusiasm for the game.

There is a side benefit with my frustration with LoTRO. I’m doing more with SL now as a result. My partner has been doing a lot of building for clients lately on there, that are paying him real money for the jobs. As a result it’s creating more and more need for unique textures. He’s been asking for my help with this part since I’ve been learning different Photoshop techniques lately. I highly recommend 3D Game Textures if you want to learn more on 3d textures. I’m also redoing his shoes vendor pictures and I’m happy that he asked me to redo those. He thinks that with new vendor pictures his sales will go up more. He maybe right. We’ll see soon.

Besides learning more things with Photoshop, I’m also slowly doing some building of my own. I have a new lantern chandelier that is just about finished now. It still needs some minor tweaking and will be up for sale soon. It’s basically an indoor version my outdoor lantern. I have a few more outdoor fantasy lights I’d like to make, also and a hobbit house I’d like to tackle. I’m just one of those people that will do more when it’s for someone else but when it’s for myself I move at a glacial pace.

~ by Kittenanne Mousehold on March 15, 2007.

4 Responses to “What I’ve Been Up To”

  1. This is quite an interesting book. I may just have to grab one for myself.

  2. You won’t regret it if you get it. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to find it at a bookstore, I have a feeling it’s only available online. It seems many of the 3d graphic texture books are only available online.

  3. Hello-

    We recently found your blog and would like to find out more information about why you cannot play LotRO. Can you please respond with some additional information so that we may be able to figure out why you can no longer get into the game?

    Thanks!

    Matt Regnier
    Account Management Supervisor
    Turbine, Inc.

  4. Hi Matt,
    Thank you for responding to my blog. I have posted a few times on the Crash area of the beta forums.

    I really wish I knew why I was crashing so much, but I am not a programmer. I’m just a gamer. I try to play a few times a week but the constant crashing after playing for 15 min is frustrating and well, I’m not able to do much of anything with that, especially the delivery quests.

    I’m hoping that the patch today will fix this problem. It is appearing to be a memory problem. I have something called a FreeRam add on that is showing the memory usage. When I crash the memory gets drained.

    I wish I could be of more help but I already supply the Microsoft crash reports, Event Viewer reports and the LoTRO launcher reports to the forums.

    I wish you all the best in fixing this problem.

Leave a Reply

 
